Restoran Lou Wong Tauge Ayam Kuetiau @ Ipoh

19 06 2010

A visit to Ipoh won’t be complete without eating the famous Ipoh Chicken Rice and Hor Fun. Hence my quest to try this local dish lead me to Lou Wong Chicken Rice which is located at Jalan Yau Tet Shin. The first thing I noticed was the amount of customers at this restaurant. At around 5 p.m., scores of people were already seated at the tables stretching to the road side.

Here is a picture of their steam chicken…

To be honest, I wasn’t really impressed with the steam chicken. For all the good reviews I have read about Lou Wong, their steam chicken was only average. Compared to some of the steam chicken I had eaten before this, Lou Wong’s chicken left a lot to be desired. The meat wasn’t tender and flavoursome.

Thankfully, the bean sprouts were fresh, crunchy and thick.

The Hor Fun was smooth and tasted alright just as you would expect a good bowl of noodle to be cooked.

One thing I have to add is the poor level of hygiene at Lou Wong. On a few occasions, I spotted their workers smoking while waiting to serve the customers. The kitchen area was dirty….

Overall I was rather disappointed with the quality of food (and hygiene) at Lou Wong. It is hard for me to recommend this place especially when their steam chicken was mediocre. I heard that Ong Kee which is just opposite of Lou Wong is much better. By the way, the meal costs RM 16.40.

Restaurant Lou Wong Tauge Ayam Kuetiau
49, Jalan Yau Tet Shin,
3000, Ipoh, Perak
Tel: 05-254 4199

Location Map






Candid shots @ Ipoh

19 06 2010

While walking around Ipoh town, I spotted some nice old buildings which provide a nice backdrop for some photoshoot. Since it was still early, there weren’t many people around which makes it easier for me to explore the place without much distraction.