Hai Yew Heng @ Tanjung Sepat

21 01 2011

Prior to my trip to Tanjung Sepat, I heard a lot of hype about the famous bao (bun) at Tanjung Sepat. Some even claimed that the business was so good till customers have to pre-order via telephone beforehand. Otherwise, they have to wait for 2 hours to purchase those buns. Even celebrities from Hong Kong came and ate the famous bao, which is a testament of how good the buns must be.

Located at Jalan Pasar, Hai Yew Heng was indeed a standout from the rest of the shop there. I supposed the house where the buns were produced has undergone a recent renovation judging from the fresh coat of paint and air-conditioning facilities.

Inside, workers are busy preparing the buns on a large piece of metal table.

Ingredients such as ‘mui choi’ and ‘choi bao’ were seen lying next to the table.

There was an old coffee shop just opposite the road, which I presume belongs to the same owner since we could also order the bao from there.

Each bun came with a piece of paper underneath with the name and address printed out.

I had the pork meat bao (RM 2.20). Inside there was a big chunk of meat and a piece of boiled egg.

While some people like it, it was only average for me. After hearing so much hype about the buns, I was rather let down by it. Not that it tasted bad, but it wasn’t as good as I imagined it to be.

The rest of the bao sold are salted vegetable bao (RM 2.00), red bean bao (RM 1.40), kaya bao (RM 1.40), peanut bao (RM 1.40) and vegetable bao (RM 1.40).

Hai Yew Heng
No. 405, Jalan Pasar
42800 Tanjung Sepat
Kuala Langat
Selangor Darul Ehsan

Tel: 012-272 9009

Location Map
(Near to YiKee Bak Kut Teh)



Actions

Information

3 responses

22 06 2011
Cristy

I’m a Filipino. my friends and I visited at the Hai Yew Heng… to my first time. I ate some pao tasted!!! Thank you for free some pao.

22 06 2011
Nigel Low

Hi Cristy! Glad you like those pau. 🙂

3 11 2012
Food n' Frame | #TSDayOut @ Tanjung Sepat

[…] which is a testament of how good the buns must be.
Read more about this shop at my previous blog here. Hai Yew Heng is
located at No. 405, Jalan Pasar, 42800 Tanjung Sepat, Kuala Langat,
Selangor Darul […]

Leave a comment