Kedai Kopi Kow Po @ Bentong

11 09 2011

During the long Hari Raya and Merdeka holiday break, me and my friends decided to travel up to Bentong for a food trip. It was an impromptu decision after finishing our breakfast at Pan Heong on that Sunday morning.

Although I haven’t been to Bentong before, I did recall that it is famous for the ABC ice-cream (shaved ice dessert) from my childhood days. Therefore, I was really looking forward to try it out as I love to indulge myself with this wonderful Malaysian dessert.

Kedai Kopi Kow Po is located opposite of the bus station in Bentong town and along the same row as Hong Leong bank. I am not too sure why there is a Mickey Mouse character on its signboard, but it sure serves its purpose in catching the attention of passerby if that is the reason behind it. What is even more odd is that it is called ‘Kedai Kopi’ as the shop strikes me as a cafe more than a coffee shop.

Anyway, the star attraction is their famous ABC ice-cream (RM 3.80) and that was what really matters.

Although it was really crowded that day, the table turnaround time was quick as customers will leave as soon as they finished consuming their dessert. The restaurant is manned mostly by family members and we were served by an elderly lady. When she asked what we wanted to order, I remember jokingly said “Any flavours lah….” and she promptly brought out all six ice-cream flavoured ABCs (Banana, Coconut, Chocolate, Vanilla, Sweet Corn, Strawberry, Pandan) when there were only four of us.

On the side note, I was disappointed that the Durian flavoured ice-cream which is their best seller was already sold out by the time we reached there before noon.

The first thing I tasted was the ice-cream and it didn’t bowl (pun intended) me over. It was underwhelming without much sweetness or flavour. I am not too sure if these home made ice-cream were supposed to have a lighter taste but there was a distinct lack of ‘ummphh’ in it.

But to be fair, Kow Po’s home made ice-cream has a smooth texture and apparently, I heard it is made from natural ingredients. So this may explain why it has a lighter taste compared to what I am normally accustomed to.

The ABC was also average. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t exactly outstanding either. One of my main gripe was that the gula melaka (palm sugar) wasn’t concentrated enough. I still prefer Weng Kee ABC at PJ Old Town.

Our group also ordered the jumbo platter (RM 8.40) which consists of three scoops of assorted flavour ice-cream. I like the coconut flavoured ice-cream as it has a nice natural flavour. Sadly, the peanut version has a strong weird taste to it (like some salty almond aftertaste).

I have to be fair here. Some said that Kow Po’s standard has dropped while others claimed that their home made ice-cream is supposed to have a lighter and natural taste without any artificial flavouring. Since it was my first visit there, I can’t really say for sure.

I guess it all comes down to personal preference. If you have a sweet tooth like me, you would find the their ice-cream rather underwhelming. But if you appreciate lighter tasting ice-cream, then Kow Po would be a great place to eat.

Still, the friendly uncle who had a chat with me said that he sells an average of over a 1,000 bowls of ABC a day.

It was also a sight to marvel on how quickly he prepares each bowl of shaved ice.

Kedai Kopi Kow Po
No.2 Bentong Heights
28700 Bentong
Pahang

Tel: 09-222 1258 / 016-931 0391

Business hour: 10 a.m. till 6 p.m.

Location Map


Actions

Information

Leave a comment