Restoran Pan Heong @ Batu Caves

11 08 2011

When I was told by my friend that there is a restaurant at Batu Caves which serves the best ‘Wat Tan Hor’ (Flat Rice Noodle with egg gravy), I was rather skeptical. After all, I have tasted the dish in most places and frankly, they are just about the same to me. However, it soon became clear to me why Pan Heong’s version (RM 10.50) is the BEST that I have eaten so far. The distinctive characteristic lies in its gravy which is yellowish in colour as compared to the clear ones at other places. Apparently, the gravy is cooked with plenty of egg yolks which give the colour and aromatic flavour.

The flat noodle was equally smooth and thin which absorbs the gravy easily. This gives an instant umph when a spoonful of noodle was put inside the mouth.

It was the second time I ate at this restaurant and suffice to say, the cook maintains its consistency in terms of its taste. Judging by the number of tables ordering this noodle, it is hardly surprising that the flat noodle is Pan Heong’s signature dish.

Despite being famous for the abovementioned dish, I was surprise that their Mee Mamak (RM 10.50) was no slouch either.

Being a Chinese owned restaurant, one would not associate it with mamak fried noodle but lo and behold, the noodle was simply awesome! The taste was just right. I am glad to say that the thick yellow noodle does not have any ‘kan sui’ (lye water) taste. Thumbs up!

Pan Heong is also well known for its ‘Nam Yue Fah Yuk’ (deep fried pork with red fermented beancurd). This is my second time eating this dish (RM 12.50) and it still taste as good as how I remembered it to be. The outer skin is crispy while the meat was soft, juicy and moist.

Admittedly, I was never a fan of fried pork but after tasting the one at Pan Heong, my impression of it has now changed. The mixture of lean and fat meat made the fried pork very chewy.

Suffice to say, I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for cheap and tasty meals. The restaurant is awfully packed during lunch hours so be there early to avoid disappointment. This is definitely one of those places that I would visit over and over again.

Restoran Pan Heong
No. 2, Jalan Medan Batu Caves 2
68100 Batu Caves
Selangor Darul Ehsan

Tel: 6187 7430

Business Hours: 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m

Location Map








