Restoran Meng Kee Char Siew @ Glenmarie

9 11 2010

The last time I wrote about Meng Kee Char Siew was when I had their Wantan noodles for breakfast. Since I was there early, I did not get a chance to try their famous Char Siew (barbecued pork) rice which was only served at 9 a.m. onwards. Although I had subsequently visited this restaurant to eat their Char Siew rice, I had never made it a point to bring my camera along. Hence, it was my lucky day when my colleagues dropped by at Meng Kee for lunch while I was carrying my gears. What made it even better was an empty table for us to sit at minutes before scores of customers started pouring in.

We ordered a plate of roast chicken for two person (RM 9) and Char Siew for four person (RM 22). The roast chicken was nothing to shout about.

I still hold my opinion that their chicken was only run-of-the-mill ever since I tried it the very first time.

I always had this thought that if their roast chicken is as good as Kie Kee Chicken Rice, it would be a heaven come true for food lovers!

Their Char Siew was a different story altogether. Succulent, tasty and flavoursome.

This is one of the best Char Siew you can find around town.

The Char Siew at Meng Kee are skillfully roasted. The colours were deep amber red (with a slight burnt texture) that looks really appetizing. The meat were very tender as well.

There are some differing opinions on which restaurant serves the best Char Siew in Klang Valley. Some say Meng Kee is the best but I tend to like Famous Seremban Favourites at Aman Suria better.

That is not to say that Meng Kee Char Siew is no good. You won’t go wrong eating at Meng Kee. Just a word of caution. The place is awfully crowded during lunch hours. Go there early to get a place to sit.

Restoran Meng Kee Char Siew
No. 20, Jalan Pekedai U1/36
Hicom Glenmarie Industrial Park
40150 Shah Alam
Tel No: 019 – 379 3629

Business hours: Mondays – Saturdays & Public Holidays (closed on Sundays)
Wantan Mee (7:30 – 11 a.m.)
Char Siew Rice (9 a.m. till finished)

Location Map


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 03 2011
Simon

Good .. I like their Char Siew but the boss don’t allow just tapau Char Siew alone…he said Char Siew margin is low!!!

19 03 2011
Nigel Low

Yes Simon. Unfortunately that’s what I remember too. Please recommend some nice food for me to try next time.

Leave a Reply

