Sarawak Kolo Mee @ Ara Damansara

10 02 2010

Many years ago, I went to Kuching, Sarawak to attend my sister’s wedding. During my short stay there, I managed to try their famous local dish called Sarawak Kolo Mee. Essentially, it is similar to wantan mee  except that they do not use any black sauce. It was really tasty and I can still remember how good it was until today.

So when I stumbled across this stall in Ming Yang selling Sarawak Kolo Mee, I did not hesitate to order a plate.

For RM 4.50, I must say that the serving is quite generous.

However, instead of using the usual char siew for meat, they substitute it with slices of fish cakes which were quite okay for me.

Overall, I wasn’t disappointed with the noodles. The noodles are flat yet springy at the same time. And of course, some green vegetables to add colours to the dish.

True to its origin, they do not put black sauce too. Overall, I enjoyed the meal a lot. Although I have rarely tried Sarawak Kolo Mee elsewhere, I can say that this one is pretty good.

Restoran Ming Yang
Jalan PJU 1A/41B
47301 Petaling Jaya
Selangor Darul Ehsan

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 02 2010
Candace

Yumm !! I could see myself rolling on the ground with severe stomach pain due to food over indulgence next week when I am back to M’sia for a short vacation. I will definitely try out each of the places that you posted on your blog here.

27 03 2010
Michael

have eaten it recently and it does not taste or looks like Sarawak Kolo mee……rip off, even the cook is a vietnamese……

27 03 2010
Michael

This is actually Hakka Mee.

Leave a Reply

