Through My Window

9 11 2009

This is one of the coolest ad that I have seen so far. “Everyone connects” is the latest tag line from Malaysia broadband provider, TMNet. The catchy tune is sang by Bunkface, and the song title is called Through My Window.





Hailam Kopitiam @ 3 Two Square

9 11 2009

There are certainly no shortage of modernised ‘kopitiams’ or coffee shop around town. Hailam Kopitiam is the latest addition to the rising trend of coffee shops mushrooming everywhere.

DSC_2703

I took the opportunity to drop by for lunch with my friends last Saturday to see how good the food was. According to their menu, the outlet is own by the Goh family which has spanned over three generations since the colonial times, which was frequented by the British. Apparently, their coffee retains the original flavour of the original Hainanese taste.

After reading their menu, I have decided to try out their ‘Kopi Cham’. ‘Cham’ means mixed in English and the drink came with the concoction coffee, tea, sugar and milk. As a touch of authenticity, it was served with the Chinese coffee shop cup which was used since many years ago to serve hot drinks. The taste was quite good with rich aroma of coffee flavour in it. I liked it a lot and ordered another cup after that.

DSC_2654

As for the food, the Hailam Spicy Fried Rice with Prawns (RM 7.20) came highly recommended according to their menu. So I thought it would be a good idea to try it out. It was certainly spicy but bearable. The taste was undeniably hot and leaves you wanting some cold water. Despite that, I like it a lot and wouldn’t mind to have this again.

DSC_2679

One of my friend took the Hailam Fried Mee Hoon (RM 6.80). Despite having the impression that the noodles was fried when we read the menu, it actually came with thick dark gravy akin to Lum Mee. It was pretty good too.

DSC_2694

And here is a picture of the Tom Yam Mee Hoon. It was fried with Tom Yam paste (I presume) and have a tinge of sour and spicy taste to it. There were slices of fish cakes, prawns and tomatoes which came with the dish. My friend was pretty happy with it.

DSC_2701

Overall, it is a good place to go for some nice tasty food. I reckon that the food quality is on par or even better than some of the other similar restaurant that I have tried.

Hailam Kopitiam
B-07-01, 3 Two Square
No. 2, Jalan 19/1
46300 Petaling Jaya
012-6645334





Close up shot

9 11 2009

Here is a picture of my girlfriend taken yesterday at Sunway Pyramid. Since she is rather camera shy, it will take a while before she gets warm up to my camera pointing at her. This is for you, dear.

DSC_2898-small





Hon Bee Kopitiam

9 11 2009

Here are some pictures taken at Hon Bee Kopitiam opposite of Giant Bukit Tinggi, Klang. I had these shots awhile ago but I did not have the time to post them up until now. Anyway, the food at Hon Bee is pretty much what you can find in most hawker stalls.

The Thai Tom Yam fried rice was pretty decent.

DSC_1775

Chinese fruit rojak.

DSC_1740

Too bad my plate of Mee Jawa tasted pretty sour. I was expecting it to be nicer judging by the look of it.

DSC_1760

The best meal of the night was undoubtedly these nicely grilled satay sticks with slices of cucumber and onions as well as ketupat (rice cakes).

DSC_1769








