Lord Stow’s Portuguese egg tart

2 11 2009

I had the privilege of tasting the authentic Portuguese egg tart from Macau which was brought back by my girlfriend’s father. Prior before this, I usually had those from local bakery shops which tasted pretty good. But tasting Lord Stow’s Bakery Portuguese egg tarts has brought a new meaning to the word ‘delicious’.

DSC_1784

The fillings is so soft and creamy with a rich taste of custard flavour. The outer skin is flaky akin to curry puff texture. I gobbled up the first tart within seconds and had the second one soon after. Yes, it was that good!

DSC_1781

According to Wikipedia, Portugese egg tarts were evolved from “pastel de nata”, a traditional Portuguese custard pastry which was created more than 200 years ago. The Portuguese-style egg tarts known in Macau originated from Lord Stow’s Café in Coloane, owned by a Briton named Andrew Stow. Stow modified the recipe of pastel de nata using techniques of making English custard tarts.

If anyone goes for a trip to Macau, make sure you spend time looking for these delicious tarts. Trust me, it is really that good!

DSC_1787

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 11 2009
Dolphingirl

yes… i agree with you. i’ve tried this egg tarts before.. there’s nothing taste like that in here…. if only macau is a stone’s throw away… ^^

4 11 2009
Candace

I have been flying to San Francisco a lot lately and I found out about this chinese bakery which is famous for their egg tart (chinese style) in their Chinatown.
People are raving for the egg tarts there, according to all of the comments that people left on Yelp, there is always a long line waiting outside of the bakery. I went there the first time and they were closed, then I finally got to buy some the 2nd time I went there. Beside their oh-so-famous egg tart, I also tried their curry triangles (yes, it is a different type of curry puffs than those in M’sia), which is also a popular item on their menu.
Boy, let me tell you, the egg tart was so eggy, custardy, puffy and flakey…there is just no correct words to describe how good it really is. Let’s move on to the curry triangles, the crust is so airy, flakey, puffy and light, and the curry fillings inside are so tasty.

When I read your blog about the portugese egg tarts, I could totally imagine how good it was; just like the egg tarts and curry triangles that I tried in SF, just one bite into the pastry, I swear I will never forget how good it taste.

Leave a Reply

