Betty’s Midwest Kitchen @ Aman Suria

4 09 2010

Betty’s Midwest Kitchen which opened its door last year offers a variety of food that are traditionally prepared by people of the Midwest of America or ‘Heartland’ . As a result, their food are wholesome, hearty and most importantly, delicious! It has been quite a while since I got excited over the food I had so allow me to blog about this wonderful place.

Located along the same row at Original Kayu at Aman Suria, this shop was surprisingly packed during Friday lunch hours. Nevertheless, the service was prompt and our orders were noted down in a short while.

My colleague took the Pulled-Pork Burger which costs RM 12.00.

The name may sound unorthodox at first but essentially, as the name suggests, the patty will be shredded or ‘pulled’ before slow roasting it.

Special sauce is added in-between the burger bun and is served with coleslaw and fries. According to my colleague, the meal was really yummy. It sure looks delicious just from looking at the pictures.

We also took the Sloppy Joe (RM 12.00). Described as an American favourite of ground pork cooked with baked beans, onions, ketchup an other seasonings, the meal was served with a bun and fries. When it arrived, we were quite surprised as it was nothing like the usual burgers that we commonly seen. Here, the bake beans, onions and etc were served in a bowl while there was a piece of empty bun next to it.

While all of us were puzzled on how it should be eaten, I supposed the bun could be spread with the sauce or otherwise dipped into it. I presume it is a matter of taste or how messy you want the meal to be.

Another noteworthy dish was the mash potato (RM 5.00).

The gravy was really creamy (which suits my taste) and the potato has a rich smooth texture to it. Highly recommended.

I had the Jucy Lucy (RM 13.50). Note the spelling (which is correct) and the creative name. According to the menu, Jucy Lucy is a hamburger with melted cheese core inside the grilled beef and pork patty. Reading that description has already got my taste bud excited. The verdict?

The grilled pattie was nicely cook; not too dry and not too moist. The combination of the grilled meat with onions was a match make in heaven! This has to be the best burger I have tried so far. And heck, for that price I would rather be eating at Betty’s than having a GCB burger at McDonald’s anytime.

With such scrumptious food, it is safe to say that Betty’s Midwest Kitchen ranks highly in my favourite choice of restaurants. Definitely worth a second visit.

Betty’s Midwest Kitchen
A-G-40, Jalan PJU 1/43
Aman Suria Damansara
47301 Petaling Jaya
Tel / Fax: 03-7880 0196

Website: http://www.midwestkitchen.com.my

Location Map









