Pao Xiang Bak Kut Teh @ Glenmarie

6 07 2010

Having tasted many Bak Kut Teh before this, I can conclusively categorize this dish into two groups. One is the original Klang version which features thick broth and strong scent of herbs and spices. The other type is a bit more watered-down and doesn’t have that thick flavoursome taste.

It doesn’t take a genius to know which one is more popular among the two. When I spotted Pao Xiang at Glenmarie recently, I was curious to find out how their Bak Kut Teh fares. Little did I know that this shop has a main outlet at Klang which is always packed with customers. Thankfully, the Glenmarie branch has lesser people.

The menu has a choice of ‘parts’ that you wish to order. Personally, I never like eating the pork fat as I find it to be unhealthy. Thankfully, Pao Xiang offers lean meat (Pai Kut and also Luan Kut) for RM 9.50 per serving.

Pai Kut means pork ribs which happens to be my favourite part of the pork meat. One thing for sure. The Pai Kut served at Pao Xiang is really HUGE! I have never come across pork ribs as big as this for Bak Kut Teh. The size of the ribs proves that Pao Xiang does not skimp on the food portion at all which is a definite plus for me.

When the dish came, the first thing I tasted was the broth. After having the first sip and I could easily conclude that Pao Xiang Bak Kut Teh lives up to my expectations (and taste bud). The broth has a rich taste of herbs and spices. The meat was tender and nicely cook.

In fact, I must say that their Bak Kut Teh literally floored me with their rich taste of herbs and spices. I kept requesting the waiter to ‘Kah Tong’ (add soup) as I was really hooked to the taste.

The Luan Kut (Soft Bone) is equally yummy.

For those who prefer lean mean but in smaller chunks should go for this instead.

A great way to accompany the Bak Kut Teh is with a plate of fresh vegetables. We took the Yu Mark (RM 8.50) which was garnished with fried shallot. The crunchy sweet vegetables was a thumbs up for me.

I find it really delicious to eat it with white rice and the meat.

If I had to rate the food quality, I would say that it easily scores a 9 over 10. Yes, it has been quite a while since I feel excited blogging about a particular restaurant. Pao Xiang Bak Kut Teh has left me feeling satisfied and has undoubtedly set a new benchmark as far as Bak Kut Teh is concern. I can’t help but to keep taking the picture of the food while eating as it was really good. I heard some portion of the pork meat are string tied to reduce the fats on the meat.

If you are a Bak Kut Teh lover, make sure you give this place a try.

The interior is air-conditioned and comfortable enough to sit through the entire meal without the sweaty feeling you get from eating in a regular coffee shop.

Pao Xiang Bak Kut Teh
No. 20, Jalan Jurureka U1/40
Seksyen U1
40150 Glenmarie
Shah Alam
Selangor Darul Ehsan

Website: http://www.paoxiangbkt.com

Location Map


Actions

Information

12 responses

7 07 2010
Candace

Gosh !!! Those huge pork ribs look so enticing !!! Give me some ;)

7 07 2010
nigellow

I will go there to eat again… :)

7 07 2010
Suyin

Yes. I want to go again.

9 07 2010
food-4tots

I’m not a fan of BKT but will be glad to share with those BKT fans about this outlet. At least they don’t have to travel so far to satisfy their cravings. Btw, love those shots in your gallery. They are stunning!! ;)

9 07 2010
nigellow

Thanks food-4tots. Can I link your blog into mine?

13 07 2010
jenny

Great stuff! I am from oversea and I love every bit of it – the ribs, vegetables and clean and pleasant environment to eat.

14 07 2010
victor

Very tasty.. we (2 person) ordered 3 bowls and finished all :)

6 12 2010
taiki

Used to enjoy bak kut teh in less than savoury environments, roadside stalls, old shophouses etc; so when Pao Xiang Bak Kut Teh opened up outlets in Pavilion KL(6th flr) and Mid Valley (last shop same row as Delicous) it was heaven on earth!! Now you can dine ’5-star’ with ‘The Best’ bak kut teh i have ever tasted in Malaysia (just my opinion of course). Superb flavorful soup, succulent meats simmered to perfection, good quality white rice – this is as good as it gets!!!

6 12 2010
Nigel Low

Agree! Looking forward to go there again.

8 04 2012
DANIEL

Hi All Eater,

Date : 08/04/2012

I just visited your Klang Centro branch and had my worst experience ever in Pao Xiang.

I thought my experience in Pao Xiang Berkeley Klang is bad enough but the Klang Centro is the worst.

Very very regret I still give Pao Xiang a chance to proof it is a good restaurant to have a good dinner.

Will NEVER NEVER go to ANY PX BRANCH for myself and my family or my friend.

The food is still OK but the customer service at both shop is so terrible terrible terrible.

I being to Kepong Branch and the service there is GOOD.

Regret to visit PX and made my dinner such a ad experience. Rather go to any restaurant around than this PX.

I tried give my comment to the PX management through their website but the comment segment not even working.

Regards,
UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER

9 04 2012
Tony

i only eat Pao Xiang at the Gardens Mid Valley and Pavilion KL – both outlets are satisfactory at every visit in terms of ‘food freshness’ and taste (ok when you consider the franchise mode of business), service and ambiance. i have heard numerous complaints regarding Pao Xiang outlets in Sri Petaling, and elsewhere – where the soup has been watered down and salty without the herbal taste, even soups which has gone off. IT IS ALWAYS A RISKY EXPERIENCE TO HAVE PAO XIANG BKT AT OUTLETS WHERE THE BUSINESS IS NOT GONE – IT MEANS THE PORK, SOUPS ETC WILL BE LEFTOVERS FROM PREVIOUS DAYS – DEFINITELY A BIG NO-NO!!!

9 04 2012
Tony

correction: “…WHERE THE BUSINESS IS NOT GOOD!”

Leave a Reply

