My camera got stolen

18 03 2010

At around 9:45 a.m, while I was crossing the road to my car at Taman Desa (near to Faber Tower), a snatch thief wearing a red T-shirt riding a motorbike came from behind and took my camera along with him. It happened too quickly and I was caught by surprise. A chase on foot was in vain as he rode off quickly, but not before I took a glance at his black visor helmet. My full camera accessories went along with him which costs me RM 7,000.

Details of my camera and accessories are as follow:-

Body: Nikon D300 (Very new condition) S/N: 6065764

Lenses:

16-85mm lens F3.5 – 5.6 S/N: 22086480
50mm F1.8 S/N: 0937773

Filters (CPL) with adapter ring
Camera Battery
Charger
Memory Card:

1 pc 8GB Sandisk Ultra II CF card
2 pcs Kingston 4GB CF card

Miscellaneous:

Giotto Air Blower

I don’t think I will be updating this blog often since I do not have a camera to take pictures.

Purchasing a new one is out of the question since I am still paying for the previous one via credit card.

To the bloody snatch thief who took my camera, I hope you end up in hell and die! You clearly do not have any conscience by taking other people belonging. Hope the bad karma will eventually come back to you in ten fold.

Actions

Information

11 responses

18 03 2010
YeinJee

Sorry to hear that. Damn those bastards.

18 03 2010
JM

I swear the bloody snatch thief will have very bad karma! I totally understand how you feel right now. It happened to me several times. Really, i swear to God they will end up in hell!!

18 03 2010
Koh

Oh my god…. so sad to hear this…. dam the snatch thief!!!

18 03 2010
Raven

Oh my god!
Curse that snatch thief!!!

19 03 2010
Zachary

Nigel,

Sorry to hear for your lost. What goes around comes around.

19 03 2010
Kienboon

sorry to hear that man.. Please be extra careful these day.. Perhaps at this moment just get a normal camera for snapshot first.. of course it wont be as aperture-graceful as SLR but it could make you smile back to record some stuff in life.. at least you are not hurt lah..

20 03 2010
podz

Sorry to hear what happened to you. Pls don’t give up. Continue to shoot even with a P&S. Keep shooting. :)

Nowadays, camera bags are as precious as women’s handbag. Those scumbags targets almost anything on your shoulder. We need to be more alert of our surrounding.

My advice : 1) Sling your bag or get a backpack (DIY would save some costs)
2) Always be alert and cautious
3) Walk in opposite way of traffic flow
4) Whenever possible, walk as far away as possible from motorcycles lane

20 03 2010
nigellow

Thanks for the tips. I will be careful in the future. I don’t know if I will continue taking pictures (it is not a cheap hobby) but let’s keep our fingers crossed.

1 04 2010
Muheza

Oh my……. Damn it!

5 09 2010
kdc chellam

Hello friends!,

I share your feelings. There is a website where you can ‘register’ your valuable items such as cameras, lens, cellphones etc. (for FREE). If they get stolen or lost, and someone comes across it (by checking the website), they can (if they are HONEST!), send a message to the legit owner. This is also good for second hand dealers and pawn shops. Try this http://www.stolenlist.info – it is a free service! If you like it, recommend to your friends! Hope you get your camera back. I wish the same for me too! Regards! KC

6 09 2010
Nigel Low

Thanks KC for the heads up. Cameras are the ‘preferred item’ among snatch thieves nowadays. So the important thing is to be vigilant at all times knowing that we may be the next victim (again).

Leave a Reply

